Skip to main content
TIME&SPACE vs Honcho: Per-Event Platform or Photographer Subscription?
Business of Events

20 October 2026 · 6 min read · 1,423 words

By Micael, Founder of TIME&SPACE

Home/Blog/Business of Events/TIME&SPACE vs Honcho: Per-Event Platform or Photographer Subscription?

TIME&SPACE vs Honcho: Per-Event Platform or Photographer Subscription?

Micael, Founder of TIME&SPACE
Micael

TIME&SPACE · Business of Events

Honcho is software a photographer subscribes to and uses across all their clients. TIME&SPACE is a platform an organiser buys for one event. Both deliver event photos by face match, for different buyers.

TIME&SPACE vs Honcho: Per-Event Platform or Photographer Subscription?

In short: Both let guests find their photos with a face match or a QR code, which is why they get compared. The difference is who buys. Honcho is sold to the photographer, on a monthly subscription, to run their own business across many jobs. TIME&SPACE is bought by the organiser, once per event, with the guest experience, consent and hosting handled as part of the event. If you are a photographer building a studio, Honcho is built for you. If you are the organiser of an event, this page is for you.

What Honcho Is

Honcho is photography software for delivering photos during events. Their homepage, checked on 20 October 2026, describes camera-to-cloud upload, face recognition and QR code sharing, an online store for digital downloads, live slideshows, wireless printing, a shared photo editor, portfolios, lead-capture forms and reports. It also states that guests can "find their shots with AI-powered face recognition".

Their pricing page lists monthly plans in US dollars: a Free Trial at $0 (3 albums, 50 photos per album, 20 face searches per album), Indie at $20 a month, Pro at $30 and Studio at $50, with lower rates if billed annually. Storage is stated as 100 GB, 1,000 GB and unlimited on the three paid plans. The online store takes a commission of 5%, 3% and 2% on those plans, and 15% on the trial.

Where TIME&SPACE Is Stronger

We are built for the organiser, not the photographer. One event, one price, one public page. You do not manage a subscription or a storefront, and your photographer does not need a Honcho account for your guests to be served.

Everything is included per event. Every plan has a gallery that stays live for 365 days, analytics and unlimited team members. ADVANCED and PRO add Event Branding, and PRO has unlimited photos.

Consent and retention are published. We do face matching, so we publish what happens to the data: explicit tick-box consent before the selfie, selfie image deleted after 30 days, face index deleted one year after the photo is uploaded. It is all in our privacy policy. Honcho's privacy policy, which we read on 20 October 2026, says face data is kept until the photo is deleted and does not give a fixed retention period. It does not mention GDPR or the EU, and it does not describe a separate consent step for face matching.

EU hosting. Our data stays in the EU. Honcho's terms state that data is hosted in Singapore and that using the service means consenting to the transfer. For an organiser in Europe, where the guests are, that is a question worth asking before booking.

No photographer, no problem. Our agency arm can shoot the event. Honcho describes software only.

Guests need nothing. A QR code, one selfie, their photos. No app download and no account.

Where Honcho Is Stronger

Price for a working photographer. A photographer shooting many events a month can run them all on a $20 to $50 monthly plan. Our per-event prices start at 188 EUR. For someone who delivers their own jobs, a subscription is simply the cheaper model.

A free trial. They offer a 7-day trial with no credit card, stated on their pricing page. We have no free tier and no trial.

Camera-to-cloud and the photographer toolset. Tethered upload from the camera, a shared editor, wireless printing and live slideshows are part of their product. Our upload and watermarking are for delivering the event, not for running a studio.

An online store. They sell digital downloads for the photographer and take a stated commission. We do not run a store.

Capability Comparison

| | TIME&SPACE | Honcho | |---|---|---| | Who buys it | The organiser, per event | The photographer, by subscription | | Published price | 188, 488 or 888 EUR per event | $20, $30 or $50 a month, plus a commission on store sales | | Free trial | No | Yes, 7 days | | Face match from a selfie | Yes | Yes, stated on their site | | QR code access for guests | Yes | Yes, stated on their site | | Gallery lifetime | 365 days, every plan | Their site does not state one | | Published retention for face data | Yes, 30 days selfie, 1 year face index | Until the photo is deleted, no fixed period | | Where data is hosted | EU | Singapore, per their terms | | Photographer toolset and online store | No | Yes | | Photography crews available | Yes, agency arm | Their site does not describe one | | Languages | English, Portuguese, Spanish | Their site does not state them |

No comparative performance figures here for either product. Prices and plan contents were read from their live site on 20 October 2026 and will drift; check theirs before deciding.

GDPR: What Changes When the Vendor Is Outside the EU

Face matching processes biometric data, which GDPR treats as a special category (Article 9) that normally needs the person's explicit consent. Three things follow for an organiser whose guests are in the EU, and none of them depends on which vendor you pick:

  • The rules follow your guests, not the vendor's address. GDPR applies to processing aimed at people in the EU even when the company is based elsewhere (Article 3(2)).
  • Moving the data out of the EU needs a legal mechanism such as an adequacy decision or standard contractual clauses (Chapter V). If the vendor will not say where the data sits, you cannot check this.
  • You are normally the controller, the vendor is your processor. That means a data processing agreement, a known storage location, a stated retention period and an answer to who handles a deletion request.

What Honcho's own documents say, read on 20 October 2026. Honcho's terms say data is hosted in Singapore, that using the service means consenting to the transfer there, and that Singapore law governs. Its privacy policy says face data is kept until you delete the associated photo, gives no fixed period, does not mention GDPR or the EU, and describes no separate consent step. It was last updated on 29 January 2024.

What to ask Honcho before you buy: where the face data is stored, for how long, under which transfer mechanism, whether they will sign a data processing agreement, whether they have an EU representative, and how a guest withdraws consent.

On our side: TIME&SPACE is based in Portugal, stores and processes biometric data only in the EU, gets explicit tick-box consent before the selfie, deletes selfie data after 30 days and the face index one year after the photo is uploaded, and provides a data processing agreement. The detail is in our privacy policy. This is general information, not legal advice; your own data protection officer or lawyer should decide.

Which to Choose

Choose Honcho if you are a photographer who delivers your own events, wants a monthly cost, a store and tethered upload, and your clients are comfortable with Singapore-hosted data.

Choose TIME&SPACE if you are the organiser, you want one clear price per event, EU hosting, published consent and retention, and photos delivered to guests without extra work on your side.

Both can coexist. A photographer who uses Honcho for their own workflow can still shoot an event that runs on TIME&SPACE. The organiser buys one, the photographer subscribes to the other.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How much does Honcho cost?

As of 20 October 2026 their pricing page lists Indie at $20 a month, Pro at $30 and Studio at $50, with lower per-month rates on annual billing, plus a commission of 5%, 3% and 2% on online store sales. There is a free trial with limits. Ours is 188, 488 and 888 EUR per event. Check their page for current figures.

Q: Does Honcho do face recognition?

Yes, according to their own site: their homepage says guests can find their shots with AI-powered face recognition, and a testimonial mentions a selfie. We make no claim about how well it works, and we do not publish accuracy figures for ours either.

Q: Where is my guests' data stored?

With us, in the EU. Honcho's terms of service state that data is hosted in Singapore. Their privacy policy does not name a data centre.

Q: Is Honcho cheaper than TIME&SPACE?

For a photographer running many events a month, yes, a monthly subscription costs less than our per-event prices. For a single organiser booking one event, the comparison depends on what you need included. See our pricing.

TIME&SPACE

Built for event organisers. Setup takes under ten minutes.

Start Delivering Photos

TIME&SPACE

Per-event pricing. No subscriptions. No lock-in.

View Pricing
Micael, Founder of TIME&SPACE
Micael

Founder, TIME&SPACE

TIME&SPACE · Event Organisers

Get the event photo delivery checklist

Setup guide, QR placement tips, GDPR checklist. One email. No spam.

TIME&SPACE

Automate photo delivery
at your next event

Guests find their photos via face recognition. Photographers upload once. Every attendee walks away with their own gallery, automatically.

See Plans & PricingHow It Works